Apr 30, 2008

Chakras - VI - Ajna Chakra

ॐ श्री गुरावे नमः !
ॐ नमः शिवाय!

In my previous posts, I have given the general account about these beautiful, subtle, invisible, non material, nerve centres or energy centres present in the Astral body of each and every human being, one can visualize the Astral body like a key chain with three cut outs like human bodies, one is your physical body, second is your Astral body and the third is your causal body, pull them together and it is one body, separate them you can see three bodies.

The sixth Chakra, the Ajna (Pronounced Aagneyya) Chakra Fig A.  

Ajna Chakra drawn by me.

The awakened Chakra has it petals upwards and the petals of the Chakra at rest are downwards.

The two tube kind of things are actually Sushumna nadi, and Ida and Pingala join the Sushumna nadi here, though I have tried to show them like they are physical entity, but they are not physical entities.

The Mandala is Avyakta Ahankara Manas Tattwa otherwise called as seat of mind.

The Zodiac sign is Sagittarius.
The ManTra is AUM, 
The endocrine glands connected is Pituitary gland, the master gland.
The no of petals are 2, which are 2 yoga nadis appear like petals.
The space in this Chakra is round and controls Sankalp and Vikalpa.
The colour of this Chakra is faint purple to white.
The area of knowledge is Super Conscious.
The energy is called Kundalini, Hakini Shakti or Just Shakti.
The deity for this Chakra is Sadashiva or Shambunada.
The Loka is Tapo loka. (Indicates the birth if Cosmos).
The Granthi Sthana is Rudra Granthi.

Sawmi Sivananda Maharaj says:

The Ajna Chakra is situated in the Sushumna between the eyebrows, this is also known as Trikuti, this is the seat of the mine, this Chakra has two petals and is a beautiful white colour, he who concentrates on this most excellent Chakra destroys all karmas or actions of the past lives and becomes a Jivanmukta (living liberated sage), he gets all the eight major siddhis and the thirty-two minor siddhis.

The PDF document says:

Ajna Chakra is situated within the Sushumna Nadi and its corresponding centre in the
physical body is at the space between the two eye-brows. 

This is known as Trikuti. The presiding deity, Paramasiva (Shambhu), is in the form of Hamsa. 

There is Goddess Hakini (Sakti}. Pranava (Om) is the Bijakshara for this Chakra. 

This is the seat of the mind. 

There are two petals (Yoga Nadis) on each side of the lotus (Chakra) and the vibrations of these Nadis are represented by the Sanskrit letters:—Ham and Ksham. 

This is the Granthi Sthana (Rudra Granthi). 

The Chakra is of pure white colour or like that of the full moon (on the Purnima day). Bindu, Nada and Sakti are in this Chakra. 

This Chakra corresponds to Tapo-Loka. 

The corresponding centre in the physical body is at the Cavernous Plexus.

He who concentrates at this centre destroys all the Karmas of the past lives. 

The benefits that are derived by meditation on this Chakra cannot be described in words. The practitioner becomes a Jivanmukta (liberated man while living). 

He acquires all the 8 major and 32 minor Siddhis. All Yogis and Jnanis too concentrate to this centre on the Bijakshara, Pranava!(OM). 

This is called Bhrumadya Drishti (gaze at the space between the two eye-brows).


An accomplished, Purnayogi in the path of Kundalini Yoga is in possession of eight major
Siddhis, viz., Anima, Mahima, Laghima, Garima, Prapti, Prakamya, Vasitvam and Ishitvam.

1. Anima: 

The Yogi can become as minute as he pleases.

2. Mahima: 

This is the opposite of Anima. He can become as big as he likes. He can make
his body assume a very large size. He can fill up the whole universe. He can assume a Virat

3. Laghima: 

He can make his body as light as cotton or feather. Vayustambhanam is done
through this Siddhi. 

In Jalastambhanam also the power is exercised to a very small degree. 
The body is rendered light by Plavini Pranayama. 
The Yogi produces a diminution of his specific gravity by swallowing large draughts of air. The Yogi travels in the sky with the help of this Siddhi. 
He can travel thousands of miles in a minute.

4. Garima: 

This is the opposite of Laghima. In this the Yogi acquires an increase of specific

He can make the body as heavy as a mountain by swallowing draughts of air.

5. Prapti: 

The Yogi standing on the earth can touch the highest things. 
He can touch the sun or the moon or the sky. 
Through this Siddhi the Yogi attains his desired objects and supernatural powers. 
He acquires the power of predicting future events, the power of clairvoyance, clairaudience, telepathy, thought-reading, etc. 
He can understand the languages of the beasts and birds. He can understand unknown languages also. 
He can cure all diseases.

6. Prakamya: 

He can dive into the water and can come out at any time he likes. The late
Trilinga Swami of Benares used to live for six months underneath the Ganges. 

It is the process by which a Yogi makes himself invisible sometimes. 
By some writers it is defined to be the power of entering body of another (Parakaya Pravesh). 
Sri Sankara entered the body of Raja Amaruka of Benares. 
Tirumular in Southern India entered the body of a shepherd. 
Raja Vikramaditya also did this. 
It is also the power of keeping a youth-like appearance for any length of time. 
Raja Yayati had this power.

7. Vashitvam: 

This is the power of taming wild animals and bringing them under control. 
It is the power of mesmerising persons by the exercise of will and of making them obedient to one’s own wishes and orders. 
It is the restraint of passions and emotions. 
It is the power to bring men, women and the elements under subjection.

8. Ishitvam: 

It is the attainment of divine power. 
The Yogi becomes the Lord of the universe.
The Yogi who has this power can restore life to the dead. 

Kabir, Tulsidas, Akalkot Swami and others had this power of bringing back life to the dead.


The Yogi acquires the following minor Siddhis also:

1. Freedom from hunger and thirst.
2. Freedom from the effects of heat and cold.
3. Freedom from Raga-Dvesha.
4. Doora Darshan, clairvoyance or Dooradrishti.
5. Doora Sravan, clairaudience or Doora Sruti and Doora Pravachana.
6. Mano-Jaya, control of mind.
7. Kama Rupa: The Yogi can take any form he likes.
8. Parakaya Pravesha: He can enter into another body, can animate a dead body and enter into it by transferring his soul.
9. Iccha-Mrityu: Death at his will.
10. Devanam Saha Kreeda and Darshana: Playing with the gods after seeing them.
11. Yatha Sankalpa: Can get whatever he likes.
12. Trikala-Jnana: Knowledge of past, present and future.
13. Advandva: Beyond the pairs of opposites.
14. Vak-Siddhi: Whatever the Yogi predicts will come to pass by the practice of Satya,
15. The Yogi can turn base metal into gold.
16. Kaya-Vyuha: Taking as many bodies as the Yogi likes to exhaust all his Karmas in one
17. Darduri-Siddhi: The jumping power of a frog.
18. Patala-Siddhi: Yogi becomes Lord of desire, destroys sorrows and diseases.
19. He gets knowledge of his past life.
20. He gets knowledge of the cluster of stars and planets.
21. He gets the power of perceiving the Siddhas.
22. He gets mastery of the elements (Bhuta Jaya), mastery of Prana (Prana Jaya).
23. Kamachari: He can move to any place he likes.
24. He gets omnipotence and omniscience.
25. Vayu-Siddhi: The Yogi rises in the air and leaves the ground.
26. He can point out the place where a hidden treasure lies.

Between Ajna and Shasrara Chakra there are other two Chakras names Soma and Manas Chakra, but they are minor, like this some other text says, there are total 144 Chakras. 

The main Chakras in any text are seven.

More to follow: Chakras VII 
- Shasrara.

ॐ श्री गुरावे नमः !
ॐ नमः शिवाय!

Sianala, montreal, April 2008

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Did your (or anyone you know of ) attained any of the siddhis listed here?