Oct 13, 2016

Argala (Influence) and Virodhargala (Obstruction to such influence)

ॐ श्री गुरावे नमः !
ॐ नमः शिवाय!

Argala and Virodhargala: Two very important aspects of Vedic Astrology, one should understand about them once your basic understanding of Rasi Chart is in place.

Argala basically means influence or intervention of planets or houses in the internal affairs of other houses or planets which can be either positive (Auspicious) or negative (Inauspicious) and Virodh (Opposition) argala is obstructions or oppostion to such negative or positive influence.

Planets in 2nd, 4th, 5th, and 11th houses have Argala on the planet and house in discussion and Planets in 3rd, 9th, 10th and 12th have Virodhargala on the planet and house on discussion.

Argala: It can be Subha (Auspicious) Argala If the Argala is due to benefic planets like Jupiter, Venus, Moon (Shukla Paksha) and Mercury (If posited with benefics) and it can be papa (sin or negative) Argala if the Argala is due to Malefic planets like Sun, Mars, Saturn, Moon (Krishna Paksha) or Mercury (If posited with Malefics) and the two shadow planets, Rahu and Ketu.

In case of the house with Ketu, the 2nd,4th,5th, and 11th houses are counted in reverse order or anti zodiacal.

Virodh Argala: Is very effective when a Benefic like Jupiter or Venus has Virodha Argala on the house with malefic planets.

Argala for the first house (Tanu bhava): 2nd, 4th, 5th and 11th from Tanu bhava has Argala on Tanu Bhava.

Tanu Bhava represents: Physique, appearance, intellect (or the organ of intelligence, i.e. brain), complexion of the body, vigour, weakness, happiness, grief and innate nature, strength, energy, fame, success, nature of birth.
Tanu bhava should be with benefics or better be empty with just ascendant, and no malefic planet should have any Dhristi (Aspect) on it or its planets, such a Tanu bhava gives the native a good character and personality, e.g. I have Jupiter and Moon in my Tanu Bhava (1st house), but I have a 4th house aspect of Mars from 10th house, which adds the General or sports man like attitude to  knowledged and clean person and it also makes me a terrible warrior, a competitive sportsman and a disciplined army man, Moon is also in shukla tithi, and Moon controls the mind, the Ascendant is in Gemini, lord of Gemini is Mercury posited in 10th house and Lord of 10th House Jupiter is posited in 1st house. (Please note when I say General, read it as mentality :-)) otherwise few over curious people might check for my registration with each and every army in this world) :-))

Cancer (2nd house), Virgo (4th house), Libra (5th house) and Aries (11th house) have Argala on 1st house Gemini.

2nd House is Dhana Bhava which represents : Sustenance, Inheritance, wealth, grains (food etc.), family, death, enemies, metals, precious stones, assets, speech, eyes, mouth, face, voice, food.

4th house is Bandhu bhava and represents: Learning, Vehicle, Conveyances, relatives, mother, happiness, treasure, lands and buildings, house, lands, immovable property, motherland, childhood, wealth from real estate, education, comforts, pleasures, peace, state of mind, heart.

5th house is Putra bhava and represents: Punya,(There is no word for "Punya", in English, it is opposite of Sin), Intelligence, Putra bhava amulets, sacred spells, learning, knowledge, sons, royalty (or authority), fall of position, children, poorvapunya (good deeds of previous lives), scholarship, devotion, mantras (prayers), stomach, digestive system, authority/power, fame, love, affection, emotions, judgment, speculation.

11th house is Labha bhava and it represents: All articles, son’s wife, income, prosperity, quadrupeds, elder co-borns, gains, realization of hopes, friends, ankles.


Taurus (12th house), Pisces (10th house) Aquarius (9th house) and Leo (3rd house) have Virodha Argala on 1st House i.e Gemini. (For me)

12th is Vyaya bhava (House of Loss) and it represents: Expenses, history of enemies, one’s own death, losses, punishment, imprisonment, hospitalization, pleasures in bed, misfortune, bad habits, sleep, meditation, donation, secret enemies, heaven, left eye, feet, residence away from the place of birth, moksha (emancipation/liberation.

10th is Karma bhava and it represents: Government (authority), place, profession (livelihood), honour, living in foreign lands and debts, growth, career, karma (action), conduct and achievement in society, fame, awards, self-respect, dignity, knees.

9th is Dharma bhava and it represents: Fortunes, wife’s brother, religion, brother’s wife, visits to shrines, father, teacher, boss, fortune, religiousness, spirituality, god, higher studies & high knowledge, fortune in a foreign land, foreign trips, diksha (joining a religious order), past life and the cause of birth, grandchildren, principles, dharma, intuition, compassion, sympathy, leadership, charity, thighs.

3rd is Sahaj bhava and it represents: Valour, servants (attending etc.), brothers, sisters etc., initiatory instructions (Upadesh), journey and parent’s death, younger co-borns, confidants, courage, mental strength, communication skills, creativity, throat, ears, arms, father’s death (7th from 9th), expenditure on vehicles and house (12th from 4th), travels.

How to use Argala and Virodhargala.

First check how many planets are giving argala and virodhargala, which ever side is strong , that side will have influence on that house in discussion, if there are no planets in both sides then check the strength of the houses with respect to aspects etc, and guess the result.

In above case, Virodharagala is over powering then any negative Argala, which means anyone who stands in my way will be crushed by the planets in 12th, 10th house and 9th house. :-) nice army.


4th house is Bandhu bhava and represents: Learning, Vehicle, Conveyances, relatives, mother, happiness, treasure, lands and buildings, house, lands, immovable property, motherland, childhood, wealth from real estate, education, comforts, pleasures, peace, state of mind, heart.

4th house, one important aspect is education, and 2nd, 4th, 5th, 11th from 4th are, 5th, 7th, 8th and 2nd have argala on 4th house.

5th house is intelligence, 7th house is relations, 2nd house is attitude or character, which basically decide what kind of education the native will have, if 5th house has a benefic it will help the native with intelligence, and if 5th hosue has Rahu, it will cause loss of inelligence, and 8th house will indicate how hard it is for the native to learn anything.

Like this each and every aspect of each and every house can be seen in the Rasi chart.

ॐ श्री गुरावे नमः !
ॐ नमः शिवाय!

Sianala Montreal, 13 Oct 2016

No comments: